InspireMe Crafts

Creative inspiration for the home, entertaining, and unforgettable gifts

Gotta Make It…with the kids: My Very Own Crayon Holder October 11, 2007

Filed under: Gifts,Uncategorized,What's In a Name? — inspiremecrafts @ 6:00 am

“It’s not how big your pencil is; its how you write your name”

 

 

 

As my toddler continues to grow, I find myself always looking for more storage ideas.  My latest problem?  Crayons….everywhere! 

I imagined myself using a nice stark white box with a lid that opens…it would be the perfect “blank canvas”. The box can easily be found at Michaels for as little as $1.99, but I was just too busy to go to Michaels.  Ok, ok, ok…you caught me in a lie.  I had plenty of time to go, I just didn’t feel like getting in my car to go there.  The car for me use to be a sanctuary…a time for ME.  Now it looks like a tornado came through and left McDonalds, Subway, Starbucks, and Toddler snacks as proof (I still can’t figure out where that rotten smell is coming from).  It needed to be avoided for my sanity!  So needless to say I started the scavenger hunt around my house to find something that I could use.  It was a blessing in disguise because it really does prove that you do a project with almost anything.  If you don’t have a large budget it doesn’t matter….just be creative!  No one can put a price tag on that.  

If your kids are old enough they would love livening up a plain tin can with their own unique touch…and name, of course.  Since my 17 month is just a little young I will take the pleasure of decorating one for him.   You could even use this idea for a back to school party and have everyone decorate it themselves.  Use this opportunity to sit down with your kids and enjoy each other’s company.  Ask them what they think about today’s quote and share with them how it has affected your life.

 

 

Be inspired, get creative, and have a blast!

 

 calebcrayons.jpg

 

Leave a Reply

