InspireMe Crafts

Creative inspiration for the home, entertaining, and unforgettable gifts

Gotta Make It: Decorated Pumpkins October 19, 2007

Filed under: Gotta Make It,Halloween — inspiremecrafts @ 7:35 am

“When black cats prowl and pumpkins gleam, may luck be yours on Halloween.” – Unknown

Sometimes simpler is better….please give me the pleasure and let me explain!  I had a couple of ideas for decorating pumpkins and I had to discover (as I’ve done many times before) that things don’t always go as planned and turn out as desired.  I am sure everyone wants to hear my disasters as well (you know you do) because it reminds us that we are all human and NOT perfect!  So let’s begin with the simple  idea.  Get your favorite ribbon, stickers, and pumpkin and TaDa!….you’ve got a no mess, 5 minute solution to sprucing up your holiday decor. I am addicted to black & white stuff so I continued that with the decoration of my pumpkins as you can see in the photo below. 

pumpkins.jpg

Now lets get to the fun stuff…the failure (ok maybe thats a little drastic).  I had some Mod Podge (can’t live without it), tissue paper and one extra pumpkin so I decided to try mod podging the tissue paper to the pumpkin.  It didn’t work out so well as far as ‘being easy’ goes.  The tissue paper is so thin that I had to do several layers and it was just a mess and too time consuming.  Then I realized that the colors really don’t go with any of my holiday decor for halloween.  I thought it would be a fun color combination and it was some leftover tissue paper I had….but it just didn’t excite me when I was done.   But what can you do?  Moral of the story…don’t use tissue paper and mod podge on a pumpkin and remember that sometimes simple is exactly what you need!

The photo of my time consuming, non exciting project…….

blue-pumplin.jpg

Now this next idea I LOVE and its gorgeous…that’s why they get paid the big bucks!  Check it out at http://www.marthastewart.com/article/glittered-pumpkins .  If you decide to try it let me know and send me pictures.  I would love to hear how it goes! 

 

One Response to “Gotta Make It: Decorated Pumpkins”

  1. […] pumpkin ideas for those last minute halloween decorations?  Last week we showed that some stickers and ribbon can add  a little character to any pumpkin in minutes and today we have a guest post from the one […]


Leave a Reply

