InspireMe Crafts

Creative inspiration for the home, entertaining, and unforgettable gifts

Gotta Have It: Tombstone Centerpiece and Place Cards…from the $1 Store!!!! October 23, 2007

Filed under: Halloween — inspiremecrafts @ 7:20 am

“I am thankful for the mess to clean after a party because it means I have been surrounded by friends.”  ~Nancie J. Carmody

tombstone-pic.jpg

 

It’s amazing what you can find at the Dollar Store.  I promise you one week you will be able to challenge me to do something and I will do it all with ease (and wallet friendly) from the Dollar Store! Ok – maybe I am being a little cocky, but why not…let’s give it a try!  So if you have a request send it to me at inspiremecrafts@yahoo.com right now!

I haven’t been to the Dollar Store for a long time, so with a few extra moments on Sunday my son and I took a little stroll down the aisles.  He was infatuated long enough with a mini mirror (how vain he is!) that I was able to uncover some great finds that sparked that creative corner of my brain. 

For awhile now, I have saved a list of funny tombstone names I came across online that I couldn’t figure out what to do with. My husband and I always like to have a good laugh and incorporate it into our everyday lives so I knew eventually I would have that ah-ha moment.  Well today was that special day.  I found these tombstones for a $1!  They could be used in a couple ways. 

My first suggestion – A humorous and spooky centerpiece.   Buy several of these tombstones and some stickers (I also found them at the $1 store) and spell out your favorite funny tombstone names.  I hope you get a little chuckle out of them just as I did:

 

 Justin Tyme
Yetta Nother
Barry A. Live
Dawn Under
Ted N. Buried
Yul B. Next
Bill M. Later
Lefty B. Hynde
Kerry M. Off
Fester N. Rott
Reid N. Weep
Sue D. Bum
Jess Gough
Barry M. Deep
U.R. Gone
Otta B. Alive
Mummy B. Ware
 

Once you have your favorites, get imaginative and create your own mini graveyard at the center of your table.  To get those ideas flowing here is one suggestion.  Buy some wheat grass that you can find in your craft store or fresh in a local grocery store.  Trim the grass and put the tombstones in the grass, add some fake spiders, cobweb, and flowers and voila! – you have a funny and spooky centerpiece that will be a great conversation starter for your guests.  

Onto idea #2.  Use the tombstones as your guests’ place cards.  Use the same $1 stickers to place their name on the tombstone and place at their setting.  Once again, get creative and use some plastic spiders and cobweb to make it extra spooky.    

 

I hope you enjoyed these ideas and perhaps they sparked that creative corner in your mind!  Please share some more ideas or pictures from your Halloween party!  Get creative, have fun…and share the photos! 

 

Leave a Reply

