InspireMe Crafts

Creative inspiration for the home, entertaining, and unforgettable gifts

Gotta Make It: Name Blocks October 29, 2007

Filed under: Gifts,Gotta Make It,Home,Kid Gifts,What's In a Name? — inspiremecrafts @ 9:03 am

“Everyday is a Gift”

Well, after some technical difficulties last night with our computer I’m finally ready to go for today’s post.  My husband decided to run “updates” on our computer and our computer and internet decided to revolt and shut down.  Funny how that happens.  And then guess who was up until midnight on the phone with Troubleshooting to get it fixed?  However, I can’t complain too much because to my surprise the person on the other end of the phone was extremely helpful and helped this non-technical person fix it in less than 30 minutes.  Now that is impressive! 

But on to the more fun stuff!  I’ve got children’s birthday parties and weddings coming up so I am concentrating on getting those gifts done this week and hopefully sparking some inspiration for you.  Today’s project are decorated blocks with paper, embellishments and GLITTER!  I used the wood blocks to spell out my God-daughter’s first name for her first birthday.    And look at how cute they are! 

 jonna-blocks-side-view.jpg

jonna-blocks-top-view.jpg

The blocks for this project are about 1.5-2 inches in size and can be found at most craft stores.  They are significantly smaller than the one large block I used for the Halloween block.  Here’s a general rundown of how I went about this project:

1.  I started out by painting the blocks a bright red. 

2.  Then I measured one piece of scrapbook paper to fit on the block allowing a red perimeter to still show.

3.  I used that piece as my guide to cut out all the other pieces.  I personally used 6 different pieces of paper so there would be a different pattern on each side of the  block.

4.  I then Mod Podged the paper to the blocks and allowed to dry.  This takes a little time since you can only do a couple sides at a time. 

5.  When the Mod Podge was dry I added the Glitter Stickers on the front in Pink. 

6.  On the top, I used words that corresponded with the letter of her name and added some embellishments.  I cut some them our of scrapbook paper and used rub-on letters for others. 

7.  Voila!  A great gift for kids of all ages. 

Get creative and have fun with this one!  You could also use this as an opportunity to teach your child their name and other things that begin with the letters of their name.  For example, on the “J” block you could put a picture of a jacket on one side, a jar, on another, a jaguar on the third, and so on. 

See you tomorrow! 

 

2 Responses to “Gotta Make It: Name Blocks”

  1. Randy Roberts Says:

    You never cease to amaze me with your talents!!Looks great!Your mom is taking the credit for the talents.

  2. […] an idea for a cute handmade birthday card that took me only a few minutes to go along with the Letter Name Blocks and Gift Bag.  The pink & brown card was purchased in a pack at Impress, the flower sticker, […]


Leave a Reply

