InspireMe Crafts

Creative inspiration for the home, entertaining, and unforgettable gifts

Gotta Make It: Christmas Cards….made by the kids November 29, 2007

“We make a living by not what we get but we make a life by what we give.”Winston Churchill

caleb-making-cards.jpginside-card.jpg

Brace yourselves because today’s post takes some major talent.  Done right, you may have a true Picasso on your hands…..and he/she may be as little as 18 months.  As you know, I love projects and have been anxiously awaiting the time when my son was old enough to participate in some with me.  I decided to give it a try.  As of now the most art he does is coloring….and we haven’t even mastered that.  We aren’t even worried about lines…we’re just battling staying on the actual page and not using the walls, table, chairs, floor, etc as his blank canvas.  

 So I decided my 18 month old could handle some foam stickers.  The Dollar Tree actually has some great stuff right now including a bag of 300 pieces of foam Christmas stickers, pipe cleaners, and some cotton balls for snow.  All I did was lay out the blank cards, remove the sticker backs and place them on my fingers.  That way he chose the one he wanted and bam!….he put it where his little artistic fingers led him.  Then we decided to attempt the coloring part again.  And what was I thinking?  I let him use glitter markers….it just seemed more Christmas-y.  To my pleasant surprise he stayed on the paper – for the most part.  To finish it off, I wrote “Merry Christmas” and “2007” on the front. 

So you really aren’t learning anything new and exciting today, but my point is that sometimes simple is just right.  These handmade Christmas cards will be just the right touch in a stocking stuffer for Grandparents, aunts, uncles, and whoever else is important in your child’s life.  Let them have fun and be creative…and worry about the mess later. 

Be inspired, get creative, and have fun!   

 

Leave a Reply

